Skip to content

C'River Deputy Gov, Speaker, SSG To Headline 2023 UNICROSS Alumni Association Nat'l Convention

Cross River Deputy Governor, Rt. Hon. Peter Odey, Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Elvert Ayambem and the Secretary to the State Government, Professor Anthony Owan Enoh would be headlining the University of Cross River State (UNICROSS) Alumni Association's 2023 National Convention, billed for December 11-12, 2023, as Special Guest of Honour, Guest of Honour and Keynote Speaker, respectively.

The Convention's programmes of activities made available to the media by the Chairman of the Central Planning Committee and President of the Association, Comrade Eyam Abeng, revealed that the Commissioner for Education, Senator Stephen Odey, Pro-Chancellor and Chairman Governing Council, His Royal Majesty, Felix Okudare, as well as the University's Vice Chancellor, Prof. Augustine O. Angba, are the other high-profile guests expected to grace the August occasion.

The document further revealed that the event which is billed to hold at Transcorp Hotel, Calabar, will be declared open by Deputy Governor Peter Odey, on December 11, while the Secretary to the State Government would deliver a keynote address on "University Education, Social Networking and National Development: The Role of Alumni," being the theme of the Convention.

The day's activities, as stated by the programme, would climax with presentation of awards to deserving recipients, notably, Rt. Hon. Peter Odey, Rt. Hon. Elvert Ayambem, Prof. Kelvin Ogon Etta, Prof. Ekanem Ikpi Braide, Prof. Ene-obong Effiom Ene-obong (post humous), Prof. Anthony Owan Enoh, Prof. (Mrs.) Akon Joshua, Ntufam Mba Ukweni, Prof. Prof. David Abua Ogar.

Others are Lafarge Mfamosing Plant, UNICROSS Microfinance Bank, Faith Plant, Dr. Ekpe Ibom Ekpe, and Dr. Glory Effiong, to complete the Diamond category, while High Priest Eno Thompson, Comrade Charles Inah, Elder Peter Otu, Comrade Udeme Bassey Obo and Elder Gabriel Otinya (posthumous) cap off the platinum category of awards. There would be Gold awards to deserving alumni, with Comrade Eyam Abeng, Hon. Katame Abang, Comrade Egere Ebu, Dr. Ukam Ngwu, Esq, topping the list.

The other segment of the programme tagged Private Session, slated to hold December 12 at the main bowl of U. J. Esuene Stadium, Calabar, will feature President's Address, Minutes of Previous National Convention, Secretariat Report, Financial Report, Review of Fresh Registry (if any), Dissolution of any organ of the Association or Expulsion of Erring Member(s) Proposal(s) for amendment and/or amendment of the Constitution, Dissolution of National Officers, Election of National Officers, as well as Inauguration of Newly Elected Officers.

By Ebi Collins, The Beagle News