Skip to content

Cross River Speaker Charges Planning Commission to Move State Higher

peaker of Cross River State House of Assembly, Elvert Ayambem has charged newly inaugurated members of the state planning commission to work in synergy, ensuring that they move the state to a higher level of growth.

He advised that they work optimally for the development of all Cross Riverians.

He gave the advice when the Assembly confirmed Governor Bassey Otu’s nominees for appointment as vice Chairman and Commissioners of the State Planning Commission.

The confirmation followed the Assembly’s consideration of the report of the Committee on Judiciary, Public Service Matters, Public Petitions, and Conflict Resolution presented by its Chairman and Deputy Majority Leader of the House, Davies Etta.

According to the chairman of the screening committee, the nominees were invited to appear before them for screening on the 8th of May, 2024, where they were “subjected to a rigorous question and answer session

He added that Gov. Otu’s appointments are in agreement with section 2 of the State law which provides that; “The membership of the commission shall be drawn from the 3 Senatorial Districts of the State”

The Deputy Speaker of the House, Sylvester Agabi said the people in the Commission have performed very well in their previous positions and they are capable of transforming the commission to a higher standard.

The Assembly confirmed the under listed:
1. Dr Bong Duke – Vice Chairman/Chief Executive Officer
2. Barr. Bassey Okim – Commissioner 1 (Economic Planning)
3. Prof. Godwin Amanke – Commissioner 2 (Development Assistance Coordination)
4. Dr Mrs Mary Julius Egbai – Commissioner 3 (Project Inspectorate)
5. Chief Emmanuel Eniang Offiong – Commissioner 4 (Research and Statistics)

Asare Asare, Daily Post