Skip to content

Teacher Essien Foundation Offers Scholarship To 50 Beneficiaries In Cross River

The board of trustees of Teacher Essien Ita Itam Education Trust Fund has offered scholarships to fifty (50) benefiting students in the State.

The Foundation disclosed this in a letter signed by its Chairman, Ekpenyong Essien Ita.

The Trust Fund was set up in 2014 by the late Barrister Temitope Ekpenyong Ita in memory of her father who was a strong advocate of access to education for every child, especially the girl child.

The Foundation observed that “children are deprived and are unable to make informed choices about life, the Trust Fund is determined to bridge the ever-widening gap between the ‘haves and the have-nots’ in the education sector in Cross River South Senatorial District.

“In a bid to achieve the aim of education for all, more teachers will be needed to be recruited and trained or replaced as they are the pivotal and the fulcrum on which all educational activities revolve.”

The beneficiaries of Hope Waddell Training Institution, Calabar are Moses Ayi Ndarake – SS1, Esien Michael Effiong-SS2, Eyo Edet Divine Francis – SS3, Ikpeme Godwin Jacob – JSS3, Okon Martin Ekpo – JSS3 while that of Edgerley Memorial Girls Secondary School includes, Valeri Bassey Eyibo- SS1, Obonganwan Itam Okpo – SS1, Sarah George William – SS2, Victoria Umo Victor – SS2, Queen Deborah Duncan – SS3.

Mary Slessor Academy, Calabar has Jesse Otu Effiwat – JSS1, Victor Inyang-JSS3, Favour Victor Edim – SS1, Victoria Bassey Ironbar – SS3, Daniel John Edet – SS3 while Government Secondary School Creek Town has Bright Effrong Asuquo – JSS2, Mary Bassey Bassey – JSS3, Caro Bassey Ekpenyong – SS1, Edak Effiok Bassey – SS2, Elizabeth Nyong Effiong-SS3.

From Government Secondary School, Adiabo the following students made the list and are Eminence Emmanuel Edem – SS2, Queen Effiom Nsa – SS1, Otu-Anwan Etim Asuquo-SS1, Effiong Collins Edet – SS1, Efa Blessing Ekpenyong- SS1.

Additionally, Government Technical College Efut Ibonda has Solomon Asuquo Anthony-VTC2, Godwin Asuquo Eyo – VTC3, Happiness Solomon Umoh – VTC3, Samuel Okon Etim – ST1, David Asuquo Eyo – ST3.

West African People’s Training Institute has Grace Bassey Ita – JSS3, Precious Okon Ekpenyong-JSS3, Precious Asuquo Edet – JSS3, David Ekpenyong Ekpenyong – SS2, Asi Orok Etim – SS3 and Saint Patrick’s College Ikot Ansa has Hero Gabriel Ayi – SS2, Wilson Bright Eso – SS2, Edem Bassey Effiom – SS2, Gregory Nsa Edem – JSS3, Maurice Asuquo Edem – JSS3.

Holy Child Secondary School Calabar has Bright Celestine Ekpenyong – SS1, Stella Edem- Ita Ekpandem – SS3, Comfort Ikang Edet-SS1, Emmanuella Bassey Onoyom – JSS3 Ekpenyong Nsa Effanga JSS3 followed by Duke Town Secondary School with the following names; Andem Asuquo Ekeng – JSS2, Divine Eyo Hogan – JSS3, Deborah Okokon Etim-SS1, Gift Etok Nyong-SS1, Maurice Okon Ene – SS3